Self-Catering Ravenstonedale

Sycamore Tree Farm Ravenstonedale, Cumbria

Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm Photo of Sycamore Tree Farm
1 of 8
From: €560 weekly Guests 6 Rooms 3 Bathroom 1

Key Features

  • Pet Friendly
  • Enclosed Garden
  • Garden
  • Parking
  • Rural location

Property Description

Holiday home
Sycamore Tree Farm is a Grade II listed, stone-built detached farmhouse situated in a rural location, seven miles from the village of Ravenstonedale and ten miles from Hawes. This farmhouse sleeps six people in three bedrooms, consisting of one king-size double leading to a twin room and there's a separate double room available, along with a bathroom. The cottage also has a kitchen with dining area, a sitting room with open fire and a summer room. Outside there's off road parking for two cars and a lawned garden with furniture and barbecue. Sycamore Tree Farm is a lovely isolated base for exploring the area.

Accomodation Details
Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double leading to 1 x twin, 1 x double. Bathroom with bath, basin and WC. Ground floor basin and WC. Kitchen with dining area. Sitting room (seats 5) with open fire. Summer room (seats 4).

Ravenstonedale is a tranquil village situated at the foot of the Howgill Fells, between the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks. The village offers traditional old dwellings, a charming parish church and the remains of the old Gilbertine Priory, along with an annual agricultural show.

Impressive mountains, open fells and clear-water lakes, the Lake District has it all. From walking in the mountains to exhilarating watersports or just a gentle cruise on a steam-powered yacht, Cumbria is the perfect holiday destination.

Electric night storage heaters with open fire. Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, TV (no signal, for DVD use only), DVD player, telephone for incoming calls only. Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. High Chair and Travel Cot. Off road parking for 2 cars. Lawned garden with furniture and BBQ. Two well-behaved pets welcome (must remain downstairs). Sorry, no smoking. Shops 3 miles, pub 1 mile. Note: No mobile phone reception in the property and in the surrounding area. Note: The garden is on a severe slope, care should be taken at all times. Note: Due to animals on surrounding farmland, pets should be kept on a lead when outside the cottage. Note: The Settle-Carlisle rail line is just a few hundred yards away, so noise from passing trains will be heard. Note: The property runs off its own spring water supply. Note: Max. 6 people, including infants. Note - The Rayburn shown in the kitchen image is for display purposes only. The property has an electric oven and hob for cooking. Note: Please can you ensure your party size details are correct - these will be confirmed on your deposit receipt. The property will only have beds made up to match party size given.

Holiday Rental Amenities

  • Accepts Pets
  • Cooker
  • Baby Cot
  • Enclosed garden
  • Fishing
  • Fishing available
  • Fridge
  • Garden
  • High chair
  • Kettle
  • Linen provided
  • Log fire
  • Parking
  • Parking space
  • Towels provided
  • TV
  • Washing machine
  • Wifi
Check Availability
Sykes Cottages
  • Safe and secure instant booking
  • Best price guaranteed online
  • Book direct with managing agent
Key Features
  • Pet Friendly
  • Enclosed Garden
  • Garden
  • Parking
  • Rural location

Map Location

Self-Catering Reviews

Mr Seddon
July 2020
Fantastic place.. Please don’t upgrade or alter. Rare to find traditional non-glossed up places. Will visit again.
Mrs Smith
April 2019
This cottage is perfect as it is which is original and charming .. .love that is gated and grids and no signal and no tv a real escape ..bliss bliss and more bloss
Mrs Collins
April 2019
A fairy cottage with fantastic views,peace and quite and situated in easy reach to all the sights by car have fallen in love with the place ..
Mrs Deery
November 2018
This is a fabulous, very rural, old farm cottage.. Perfect in November to bring a dog terrified of fireworks, & we heard none. All we heard was the weather, birdsong & the occasional train, which was not loud or annoying. Is this a cottage full of mod, but the positives far outweigh any not so positives. Barely any pressure in the shower, but one can still shower, so that's fine. There's also a lovely long bath where you can have a lovely long soak. The cottage is very well equipped in the kitchen. We cooked from scratch, most days, & found everything we needed. There's no washing machine, so we went retro & did hand washing. All four of us saw a red squirrel in the front garden, & the bird life is wonderful. There are 2 Herons at the nearby river. Getting here was tricky, but if you do EXACTLY 5.8 miles after the Moorcock inn you get to the turn off for the farm, and then Sycamore is signposted. Try arrive in daylight hrs though as it's tricky! Those directions are if you've come from the Hawes area. The nearby (4miles) Nateby Inn is the nearest pub and is great with good food. We are sure the details of the cottage said a pub 1 mile away, but it doesn't exist. We highly recommend Sycamore. The peace & tranquillity is wonderful. Some people have written in the visitors book that it needs an overhaul, but we disagreed. It is what it is, and that's perfect
Mrs Mayer
October 2018
Location stunning.. Cottage very peaceful and relaxing. Plenty of wildlife watching and tranquility around the cottage and weather watching over the mallerstang Common. Shirley who was the local contact and arrived to prepare cottage for next booking is so friendly and interesting to talk to. Plenty of wood for fire which lasted us the week. Lots of fantastic walks nearby and easy to drive to more wonderful places to walk. Only recommendations for improvement would be a good powerful shower in addition to the main bathroom as 6 tired wet muddy walkers sharing the one bathroom wasn't ideal and was surprised to find feather pillows and duvets on some beds which felt in need of a refresh or replacement with new hollow fibre, so a little more updating to the bedding would be great. Also a washing machine would be a very helpful addition to the kitchen facilities. However, sitting outside and gazing across the beautiful valley on a mild October afternoon made these things of very little importance! A fabulous spot.
Miss Bavage
September 2018
What a fabulous property.. Ideal base for walking. Even though Settle-Carlise rail line is nearby you couldn't hear the 8 trains a day. Though we did manage to see one if the steam train specials go by. Loads of beautiful places to visit near by. The Wensleydale dairy and White Scar Cave were really interesting. The property has retained so much if its authenticity. The emmersion heater ensured plenty of hot water for post walk baths. The open fire also kept us toastie warm on an evening when we came in from the beautiful gardens. As recommended the pantry kept our wine and cheese just right. Would thouroughly recommend to anyone. Some bizzare comments like "needs modernising" made us laugh. Shirley the caretaker was great at explaining how to find the farm as it isn't well signposted and also rang to check evertything was ok.
Mrs Freeman
June 2018
My husband and I stayed at Sycamore Tree Farm from 30th June to 5th July with our two labradors.. We chose this property due to the location of the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District. I have listed both the pros and cons of the property for an accurate review of our stay. Pros: The Owner Shirley was very lovely and was a phone call away if we needed anything. The building itself was lovely, a very charming building and had all the bits and pieces you would need for a stay. there was a TV with various DVDs which was great for the evenings after long days out. The fireplace was great, even though we had hot days, we still had cool evenings so made a couple of fires. which was great for the dogs to fall asleep in front of. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, plenty of cutlery and cups and glasses. the Larder was brilliant, it stored all our food and stayed relatively cool even in the heat. The Location of the property is brilliant. there is so much to see and do in the area. and the local town of Kirkby has everything you need to either dine out or stock up with. The house can sleep 6 in beds comfortably. There are two toilets, one upstairs in the bathroom and one downstairs, which was a good convenience. The sunshine in the afternoon was lovely, we sat outside tanning in the sun with cold drinks, that was our favorite part of the holiday. there were also various board games, which was great and we played a few in the evenings. There was also a huge list of different walks in the area, and maps if you wanted to take out with you for the day, along with local restaurant menus and recommendations. Cons: The day before we arrived we were told we cant drink the water as the bore water UV light wasn't working so wouldn't be safe to drink. The owner did have a 4 litre bottle of water for us at the property which was kind, but overall it wasn't very convenient as we had to keep buying bottled water which was also for our dogs, and in the heat wave, we went through a lot. also as i am pregnant, i was worried particularly brushing teeth etc, so we had to still use bottled water for that too. Hopefully this issue is now resolved for the property. The hot water system had to be turned on each time you wanted Hot Water and it took about 45 minutes to an hour to heat the tank to be able to have a bath. There was no stand alone shower, and the shower head in the bath was very weak and would run either hot or cold depending on how you held it. We were advised not to leave the hot water system on all day as the tank was in an upstairs cupboard and gets too hot. This became a bit annoying when trying to wash dishes at different times of the day. A couple of hours into arriving we had a call to tell us there was a large Wasps Nest under the outside table. we were advised to spray fly spray in the hole at the bottom of the nest, we didn't feel comfortable with that and having two dogs who like to explore, we had to fence off part of the enclosed garden so the dogs wouldn't accidentally get too close or knock the nest. The living room main double sofa needs an upgrade, it is very worn and not very comfortable. Overall the house needs a deep clean, it was extremely dusty. we arent very fussy people and have rented many holiday cottages, but my asthma was particularly bad in the house, you could see all the dust every time you opened or closed curtains, or moved a blanket. I think if that was done it would make a huge difference. *** Owner Response*** Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments, the issues relating to the UV & wasps nest have both been dealt with. Thank you once again. **
Mr Chapman
April 2018
We were very happy with our holiday from the booking to the week we had away.. The communications from Sykes was superb. I will be booking again through this company
Mr O'donnell
March 2018
Cosy cottage in a fantastic location
Mrs Mairs
August 2016
Amazing location beautiful house spacious for 6 Lovely fresh flowers and first stack of logs for the fire Thankyou
Mr Dixon
June 2016
This cottage is really lovely. Very well equipped but the décor, furnishings, pictures are all very tasteful, eclectic collections of interesting things. It feels like someone's much loved and cherished home. If you want character, charm and good taste then please book it. The location, privacy and views are unparalleled.
Mrs Redhead
April 2016
The cottage is in an idyllic setting and is the perfect place to relax and unwind. It is very cosy and there are plenty of walks nearby. We enjoyed the week very much and will return.
February 2016
Stunning remote location, beautiful house. I want to move in! Shirley the caretaker was delightful and we had everything we needed. It might have been useful to know beforehand that the television at the property plays videos not DVDs! Though it didn't spoil anything - we played board games in the evening to entertain us instead. Really hope be back.
Tell us about your rental experience while staying at Sycamore Tree Farm. Let us know if the listing matched your expectations. You can share your comments about the location, property owner/manager and all the unique features that made your stay a memorable one.
From €560/weekly Check Availability