E-mail Google Twitter Facebook Marker Info Arrow Forward Place play external link angle right location marker chevron down close favourite bedrooms sleeps

Self-Catering Brixham

Hearthstone East Cottage in Brixham, Devon

From: €751 weekly Guests 8 Rooms 4 Bathroom 2

Hearthstone East Cottage Self-Catering

Holiday home
Hearthstone East Cottage is a wonderful historic thatched cottage with masses of traditional features on the edge of the Devon seaside town of Brixham. The cottage sleeps eight people in two double bedrooms (one with an en-suite shower), two twin rooms and a family bathroom. On the ground floor are a fitted kitchen and a characterful sitting room with an open fire. Outside is off road parking for two cars and a lawned garden with a patio and outdoor furniture. Just over a mile from the harbour and the town centre, Hearthstone East Cottage is a superb cottage for a memorable break in Devon.

Devon, with its quiet country lanes, patchwork of lush green fields and sleepy villages is not to be missed. Stately home lovers will be spoiled and why not finish with a scrumptious Devonshire cream tea?

Central heating with open fire. AGA cooker and electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, Nescafe Dolce Gusto coffee machine, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, Blu-ray DVD, WiFi. Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Two travel cots and highchair. Off road parking for 2 cars approx 50 yards from property. Garden with patio leading up to lawned area with furniture. Two well-behaved dogs welcome. Sorry, no smoking. Shop and pub 5 mins walk. Harbour 1.2 miles. Note: Due to the age and style of the property, there are many internal steps between rooms, may not be suitable for guests with limited mobility. Note: Access from the parking to the cottage is through the rear garden along a paved pathway and down 14 cobbled steps to the back door, with access to the front door from the roadside with 6 steps. Access without any steps can be made to the back kitchen door from a side gate. Note: Due to the property having a thatched roof, BBQ's are not permitted

Vacation Rental Amenities

  • Accepts Pets
  • Cooker
  • Cots
  • Dishwasher
  • Enclosed garden
  • Fishing
  • Fishing available
  • Fridge
  • Garden
  • High chair
  • Kettle
  • Linen provided
  • Log fire
  • Parking
  • Parking space
  • Towels provided
  • TV
  • Washing machine
  • Wifi
  • Near Pub
Book Securely Online
Sykes Cottages
  • Safe and secure instant booking
  • Best price guaranteed online
  • Book direct with managing agent

Self-Catering Reviews

Mr Baker
February 2019
Fantastic accommodation - cosy country living.. Just as you would expect from a historic property but with mod cons thrown in! Thoroughly recommend this property!
Miss Martin
February 2019
Love the cottage so much I’d like to up sticks and live there, and Joanna and Jim are lovely, helpful people.. The cottage isn’t far from the beach if you don’t mind some Devon hills, and I love the fact it’s dog friendly. The cottage has a very warm, positive vibe and in terms of ‘character’ you simply can’t do better. It’s the quintessential old-Woldy cottage.
Mr Quiblier
September 2018
Very beautiful cottage, decorated with taste.. Like the Tardis, it's bigger in the inside than it looks on the outside :). I would recommend this renting anytime
Mrs Long
July 2018
Well positioned cottage 20 minute walk from the harbour.. Full of quirky features. Easily accommodated 6 of us and 2 dogs. Brixham itself is a good centre for sightseeing. Lots to do in close proximity.
Mr Smith
July 2018
A lovely cottage with lots of character.. A comfortable and enjoyable stay with a great location for surrounding areas to visit. Fantastic weather which made our week so much more enjoyable.
Miss Harvey
June 2018
The cottage was wonderful - on a road though which was not mentioned but very comfortable and homely :)
Mr Spurgeon
June 2018
Hearthstone cottage is a very comfy quirky cottage.. Which is very well equipped. It has everything you can possibly need. It has a lovely garden for the dog and loads of seating for us to kick back and relax on. It’s in a great location for exploring the surrounding areas. As it’s central to all the main towns. The welcome pack left by the owners was very much appreciated
Mr Estall
May 2018
The cottage generally was let down by its "scruffy" appearance, whereby upon arrival to the property our first-impressions were of almost abandonment from outside.. The wrought iron front gate was in a state of disrepair and little more than barely usable (not helpful with a family of 5 with a 2yr old toddler and a dog), the front garden was generally overgrown and unkempt which was very disappointing. The same comments can be made of the rear garden, this was woefully overgrown and the patio area at the top of the garden should be condemned due numerous paving slabs being loose and susceptible to trips and falls which could have considerable consequences! The lower part of the garden immediately as you exited the back door required over two hours worth of manual labour, sweeping and cleaning patio furniture to make it usable.......not exactly what you want to be doing on the first day of your holiday! Inside the cottage was better and generally as expected and we felt comfortable spending our evenings either around the kitchen table or in the living room, the beds and bathroom linen were fresh and comfortable but the general level of cleanliness in the cottage could have been better, lots of cobwebs and dust on and around all the ornaments and nick-nacks and not enough cleaning equipment to deal with available or a "contact this number XXXXXX" to allow us to either resolve ourselves or get someone in. There may also be some room for improvement on the description of the local amenities, in particular the the public house that was mentioned being just down the road. The Bell Inn is NOT for families neither should it be suggested as a place to go, it was probably one of the roughest, tattiest and worst public houses I have ever had the misfortune to patronise. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- *******Owner Response******* Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to give me feedback, as owners we genuinely take onboard what our guests impressions are and where appropriate improve our facilities to ensure comfort of future guests. Now if I can comment on the main points of your feedback. 1) "scruffy appearance, overgrown & unkempt gardens" - We were shocked by these comments however once we had spoken to our gardener we understood fully what had occurred. Our gardener had broken his arm and had not been around to the cottage in a few weeks, so quite rightly it was overgrown, we sorted this out immediately and going forward put procedures in place for the new gardener to send us pictures of completed works. We have also bought a stylish brand new 8 seat rattan table and chairs for the patio area. 2) Front gate not shutting - This has been repaired, so too has the side gate which was a bit stiff so a new handle has been put on it. 3)The 3 wobbly paving slabs in the garden have been re cemented in. 4) Our cottage is historic and so full of character, however we take on board the "nick nack" comment and removed many of the "dust collectors". 5) We also had too much crockery which may have looked a bit mis-matched so the excess has been removed so it looks less like a 2nd hand car boot sale stuff and more appealing. The Bell pub, which does have very friendly publicans and locals, is undergoing renovation & is now tatty and scruffy this has been removed from recommended places. 6) One of the toilets is off of the kitchen however as a grade 2 listed 16th century property we have to work with the rooms we have. The W/C door is on the left and one step down of the kitchen. I'm sorry that you could not find my number from the welcome pack as we always advise our customers to contact us day or night if you have any questions or issues. As I would much rather arrange for housekeeping or gardener to come and sort out any issue immediately rather than be unhappy at the end of stay. I have now pasted my Phone number on the top of the welcome pack. We do love the cottage and really want everyone else to enjoy it too.
Mrs Schofield
April 2018
Owners were very friendly and helpful when I telephoned.. Its a great quirky house which is what we were looking for. Anyone used to en suites or two bathrooms beware ... one bathroom (although one bedroom had a shower and there was one in the utility room), but only toilets were in the bathroom and off the kitchen ... no one in my family wanted to use a toilet off the kitchen when kitchen was full of people eating, so breakfast time was a bit of a legs crossed waiting for the loo.
Mr Burgess
February 2018
Very cosy and interesting cottage.. The owner although in Brighton was attentive and responsive.
Miss Stone
January 2018
This is a beautiful cottage.. Very comfortable and good location. We all had a brilliant time.
Mr Davies
December 2017
Really lovely cottage within easy reach of the harbour and all other sites and facilities.. Cottage was excellent and just what we needed for a new year hideaway, thank you also to the owners who were easily accessible via mobile telephone and were extremely helpful and wanted to tell us lots about the area and the house.
Tell us about your rental experience while staying at Hearthstone East Cottage. Let us know if the listing matched your expectations. You can share your comments about the location, property owner/manager and all the unique features that made your stay a memorable one.
Cookies are required for normal operation of our website. However no personally identifiable information is stored in any of the cookies that we use. Learn more